• Share review

       

      Embed review

      11/13/2017

      WOW, what a great day.

      We did a half day fishing charter with Richard (which ended up being like 5.5 hours). Richard was a great captain. The boat was clean and well equipped. Richard took us out there where the fish were. He warned us in advance that the fishing had been a little slow, but much to our surprise we have a really great day with lots of fish. We caught about 15 sharks, 10 blue fish, a few trout and a black cod. Richard did a beautiful job of cleaning the fish and telling us how to best prepare it.

      I would highly recommend Richard and Tallboy Charters. I hope to be back there soon and will again be out with Richard fishing.

      Useful 1FunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      6/27/2019

       1 photo

      I could not say enough good things about Captain Rico and Adam. We've gone out 2 years in a row now, and both times came back with a full box of fish. He knows the area and took us to the perfect area based on the weather and season so we could catch our max! Our last trip we even caught a giant black fin tuna. Every trip to Hilton Head will include a ride out on the Tallboy if we can help it!

       

      UsefulFunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      8/31/2019

      Promises of fish listed on the website were not true. I would recommend they tell you the seasonal expectations. We didn't catch anything but baby sharks....do do do do do do....

      UsefulFunnyCool

      Comment from Richard P. of Tallboy Fishing Charters

      Business Owner

      9/1/2019I’m sorry we failed to meet whatever expectations you may have had.  I try to make sure all of my customers know what to expect from as early on in the process as possible.  I offer trips from three to eight hours and the associated catches for each are very different and also change seasonally.  For example, three hour trips are, in fact, intended for catching sharks during the summer months.  Is that the type of charter you had?  I’m not sure what fish you are referring to that are “promised on my website” that turned out to not be true.  In fact, there is no place on my website that promises any sort of fish.  Your review is hard for me to respond to in a personal manner because I can’t tell who you are from your profile and therefore have no way to recall your trip.  Nor do I remember a recent trip where all we caught were baby sharks.  Nor do I remember a recent trip where my customers seemed disappointed enough to leave a two star review.  I certainly wish you would have expressed your disappointment to me at the time of your charter when I would have had more avenues to make you happy.  If you’d like to offer me the opportunity to make you happy please feel free to contact me directly.

      Read more

  •  

    Share review

     

    Embed review

    6/4/2017

    4 of us went fishing with Rick and his mate in May 2017 and had one of the best days of fishing we've ever had! We caught an abundance of fish. Rick even suggested a great restaurant who prepared our catch for dinner!

    Would highly recommend this charter to anyone who is interested in a great day of fishing!

    UsefulFunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      4/13/2017

      We had a great day fishing with Captain Richard. He's great with kids and very knowledgeable about the area. We caught 30 to 40 fish and one HUGE redfish to finish the day. Next time we're coming back to catch a shark!!!!

      UsefulFunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      7/9/2014

       1 photo

      Captain Richard was first class for our family. This was my son's 7th birthday celebration and Richard helped me plan the outing before arriving in town and he was most pleasant and capable in person.  

      We planned a kid friendly shark outing for 3 hours.  There must have been at least 10 catches.  Most we're black tip sharks, hotdogs, etc.  All of us caught at least one shark, including my wife with none of our catches exceeded 4.5 to 5 ft in length.

       

      UsefulFunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      5/20/2017

      Highly recommend them!!! Captain Richard and first mate Adam were top notch! Fabulous trip!!!

      UsefulFunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      7/6/2016

       1 photo

      Excellent day out on the Tall Boy -- we had a party of 4 men ranging in age from 17 to 70 -- everybody caught a shark and walked away happy -- the crew was terrific and knew exactly where to go to get the job done -- a memorable experience we won't soon forget !

       

      UsefulFunnyCool

      Comment from Richard P. of Tallboy Fishing Charters

      Business Owner

      2/9/2017Thanks for the positive feedback!  It makes me happy to know you enjoyed your fishing trip.  I hope to see you on the new boat this year!

      Read more

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      10/8/2014

       1 photo

      Awesome trip. Captain Richard took us out for a 3 hour trip. We caught 400 lbs of fish in that time frame. Worth every dime!

       

      UsefulFunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      11/23/2017

      This is our 2nd trip with Richard over the last 5 months. I wouldn't go fishing with anywhere else on Hilton Head. The boat is clean and well kept. Richard makes sure that you have a good time and catch the maximum possible. We caught about 40 fish including 5 red drum fish (which are huge) this last time. He is professional and very friendly. We will be using him every time we are in town as we are guaranteed to have fun.

      UsefulFunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      6/9/2014

      Best fishing trip ever! Memories and fun that will last a lifetime. Capt. Richard was a serious fisherman; polite, professional, knowledgable and helpful.

      We booked a four hour trip and caught several sharks right way including a spinner shark that was dinner! Capt. Richard then ask if we wanted to catch "a larger shark?" Of course! And we did! My daughter caught a Lemon Shark that Capt. Richard estimated to be about 8 ft and 175 lb.!

      We will return to HHI and to fishing on the Tallboy with Capt. Richard and I highly recommend it for anyone who loves to fish.

      UsefulFunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      6/23/2012

       2 photos

      My wife took me fishing on the Tall Boy for our anniversary.  I could not ask for a better experience and a better captain.  If you are looking to charter a boat in the Hilton Head area do not hesitate to book with Captain Rich and the tall boy.  We will be fishing with him again the next time we are in the area.  Great conversation and great fishing.

       

       

      Useful 1FunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      9/19/2014

      Richard is like the best dude ever. I do not fish, nor am I tall. Neither of these things matter, as he made my day today, and my visit to Hiltonhead extra memorable. Do yourself a favor - go to Hudson's for lunch, then pop over to the tallboy for a little fishing, or do as I did and take a leisurely ride with Richard. He's such a charmer, even the dolphins frolic in his wake. Literally. Rumor has it he is awesome at the fishing thing too and offers a full service that will make your visit to the area extra memorable so check it out. I personally guarantee you will thank me.

      UsefulFunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      10/11/2011

       First to Review

      Our group really enjoyed the charter with Capt. Richard.  I have been on over a dozen private fishing charters and I must say that this ranked up at the top.  

      His laid back attitude combined with a high degree of professionalism and customer service was a great match for us.  The season we went out was best for sharks so we decided try that out for the first time.

      My wife and 2 brother in-laws were out for a 4hr trip and each caught 2 sharks, one of which was a large 200+lb nurse shark.  

      Just before our time was up, Richard noted that we were hitting a good time of day so he agreed to get one more on the line before went in.  It was clear that he genuinely wanted everyone on the boat to have a memorable experience.

      15min later, we got a bite that turned into a 2.5hr fight which we had to rotate across 3 grown men.  It also dragged the boat for nearly 3miles.  I was the unlucky one who had the real as it finally neared the boat and broke the line.  We got a glimpse of its just before it must have wrapped itself in the line under the boat... We were beat for the day but it was most certainly worthwhile as Richard was great company and kept us on the shark for a surprisingly long time.

      We will never know exactly what it was but he suspected it was a Tiger shark well north of 700-800lbs.

      When I make it back down to Hilton Head, I will most certainly contact Tallboy again. I highly recommend this Capt.

      Useful 1FunnyCool

    •  

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      5/26/2016

      Captain Rich is an awesome guy.  Very knowledgeable and friendly.  First mate Kevin took great care of us too!  We took a 5 hour trip my boys will always remember.  We left with several pounds of cleaned fish to take to Hudsons for lunch.  I would highly recommend captain Rich and his crew to anyone regardless of experience level.  The equipment was in great shape.  This is by far the best experience I have  had on Hilton Head Island!!

      UsefulFunnyCool

    •  

      Laura L.

      Goleta, CA

      39 friends

      2 reviews

       

      Share review

       

      Embed review

      11/12/2012

      We took our dad to celebrate his 75th birthday, and it was the best birthday ever!  It was great having the whole boat for just the 3 of us, and Captain Richard was awesome.  He was super friendly and knew just where to take us to find the fish and gave us advice on how to reel them in.  On our half day charter we caught 11 redfish, including a 50-pound whopper.  Most were over 40 pounds, so we got a good workout reeling them in.  We caught one that was legal size to keep, and Richard cleaned it and filleted it for a delicious fish dinner.

      UsefulFunnyCool

     

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

© 2023 by Jade&Andy. Proudly created with Wix.com